Great Basin Outdoor School receives Wendell McCurry Award


CARSON CITY, Nev. – The Nevada Division of Environmental Protection has awarded its annual Wendell McCurry Excellence in Water Quality Award to the Great Basin Outdoor School (GBOS) in recognition of its exceptional outdoor environmental education programs.

The award was established in 1999 to honor Wendell McCurry and his long-term commitment to water quality protection and improvement. During his 33-year career, Mr. McCurry was noted for developing the State’s water quality standards program and representing Nevada at the national level with the Association of Clean Water Administrators, where he was highly influential in shaping national water policies.

Founded in 1996 by Ms. Sue Jacox, GBOS’s motto is “Hands on Discovery in the Outdoor Classroom” with the goal of instilling a sense of environmental stewardship toward preserving and protecting all natural resources, with an emphasis on water quality and watershed health. Based on the eastern shore of Lake Tahoe, GBOS provides field experiences and service learning projects that allow students to explore the environment and study the ecology that connects Lake Tahoe with the Truckee and Carson River communities. Since the group’s establishment, thousands of students and teachers have engaged in GBOS’s dynamic education and training programs.

“For almost twenty years, GBOS has provided outdoor learning programs, starting with one-day excursions for low-income schools and building to multi-day outings that are available to most fifth and sixth graders in northern Nevada. Ms. Jacox’s long-term leadership has been critical in bringing environmental education to young people, providing a basic understanding of the water quality issues facing Lake Tahoe and northern Nevada, and teaching students how they may take simple actions to improve and protect water quality,” said David Emme, Administrator of the Nevada Division of Environmental Protection. “We are honored to recognize Ms. Jacox and the school’s efforts with the Wendell McCurry award.”